Tulane Law School
In the Public Interest


Awards are given each year in recognition of outstanding contributions made by Tulane law students in the public interest.
Among the awards are the following:

  • Brian McSherry Award – This fund was endowed in memory of Brian McSherry, a 1981 graduate of Tulane Law School.  The award is given annually to the graduating student who has demonstrated the greatest dedication to the Law School’s pro bono program.
  • General Maurice Hirsch Award – Endowed by Mrs. Elise Newman Solomon to honor the life and achievement of General Hirsch, this award is presented each year to the graduating law student who, in the judgment of the faculty, has  contributed most distinctively and constructively to university or community needs.
  • The Louisiana State Bar Association Law Student Pro Bono Award – This award was established in 2007 to recognize up to four law students attending an ABA accredited law school in the State of Louisiana who have demonstrated the utmost dedication to providing legal services to the poor. Each year since the award was created, a graduating Tulane law student has been honored by the State Bar as a recipient of the LSBA award.
  • Tulane Crest Service and Leadership Award - This university-wide award recognizes one graduate and one undergraduate student who have made significant contributions to the New Orleans community through the combination of outstanding community service and leadership. 
  • Tulane University Dean Donald R. Moore Award - This award recognizes one graduate and one undergraduate student who has served in a significant leadership position during the year, has demonstrated an effective approach to leadership and exhibits exceptional character.
  • Tulane 34 Award - The Tulane 34 Award, presented to 34 graduates from Tulane's 10 schools and colleges, recognizes students for their exemplary leadership, service, and academic excellence.  Named for the year in which the university was founded, the Tulane 34 Award is among the most coveted university-wide honors bestowed upon students.

In addition, each year an Annual Pro Bono Recognition luncheon is held at which every student donating 50 or more hours of pro bono assistance is recognized.  Also, the 2L student and the 3L student contributing the highest number of hours receive individual recognition.

 December 2011 - The National Jurist recognizes Tulane Law School as one of the top law schools for public interest:  http://www.nationaljurist.com/content/best-schools-public-service 

 December 14, 2011 – Pro Bono Project LAW STUDENT OF THE YEAR, Anders Holmgren, Class of 2012 



 Photo: Award presented to Anders by Judge Jay Zainey, USDC, Ed. LA.   Comments by the Pro Bono Project:  "It is always a delight to find a student who is willing to commit regular hours each week, especially one who is on law review and moot court, and is near the top of his class at Tulane…Anders has done such an excellent job with every assignment…Anders came to help us twice a week and was always ready and eager to work.  He is so industrious that we didn’t see him tweet or text message once while here, which makes him a bit of an anomaly.  And from legal research to client-letter writing, to drafting petitions, motions, and interrogatories, Anders can do it all.  We’d say more, but he’d probably blush.” 


Photo: May 2011, Donald "Trey" Cassels, '11, receives the Brian McSherry Award from Assistant Dean Julie Jackson and Dean of the Law School, David Meyer.

McSherry Award 2011 


Photo May 2011:  Rosanna Eugenio '11 receives the 2011 Law Student Pro Bono Award from the Louisiana State Bar Association


Tulane 34 Award 2011 

Photo May 2011:  May 2011 Law School graduates and recipients of the Tulane 34 Award are, from the left, Emma Rebhorn, , Ian Furman, Brian London, Tyler Maulsby and Nadja Tilstra.

Related News  

Entertainment Law Legal Assistance (ELLA) Project Wins Governor's Arts Award - Sept 25, 2008

 2010 Law School of the Year2010 Law School of the Year – TULANE LAW SCHOOL 

The Pro Bono Project’s long-time partnership with Tulane reaped more rewards this year, making it this year's Pro Bono Law School. As the first school in the nation to require public service as a component of a law degree, Tulane has been in the forefront to make pro bono second nature for its graduates.  In fact, The Project was the first site approved for Tulane students to perform their community service requirement over 20 years ago in 1988.

This year, the law school particularly stood out for the many fine law clerks it sent during the year, especially during the “Green Wave” summer. Tulane also gave needed support by hosting the training and recruiting students for the Help Desk Project in Civil District Court, a pilot study to provide legal information to pro se litigants with domestic cases.

Additionally, Tulane has been a long-standing supporter of The Project’s annual Justice for All Ball. We are grateful for Tulane's commitment to The Project and those in need of access to justice.


Photo: Judge Helen G. Berrigan, United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana presided over the ceremony. Dean David Meyer, Dean of the Tulane Univ. Law School accepted the award on behalf of the Tulane Law School Pro Bono Program; and Rachel Piercey, Exec. Director of the Pro Bono Project 


See also Tulane New Wave 2/3/11 at http://tulane.edu/news/newwave/020311_law.cfm 



©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login