Tulane Law School

For more information about giving opportunities, contact:

Adam Kancher
Director of Alumni Relations
Tulane University Law School
Law Alumni House
6325 Freret Street
New Orleans, LA 70118
O: 504-865-5920
F: 504-862-8578

Tulane Law Hall of Fame Luncheon

Thursday, May 10, 2018
11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
601 Loyola Avenue
New Orleans, LA 70113
Luncheon tickets are $60 per person or $500 for a sponsored table of eight.
Tickets can be purchased online or by contacting the Office of Law Alumni Relations at 504-865-5909 or lawalumnirelations@tulane.edu.
Purchase tickets online at https://alumni.tulane.edu/hofregister.

2018 Inductees

This year, Tulane Law School will celebrate six exemplary legal-profession leaders through induction into its Hall of Fame.

The honorees include New Orleans attorney Judy Y. Barrasso (L '81), founding member of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver; The Honorable Eldon E. Fallon (A&S '60, L '62), U.S. District Judge for Eastern District of Louisiana; and Cynthia R. Shoss (NC '71, L '74), co-head of Global Insurance and co-leader of the Insurance Transactions and Products practice at Eversheds Sutherland. Three other honorees will join the Hall of Fame posthumously, John R. Kramer, who served as Dean of Tulane Law School from 1986-1996; The Honorable Kaliste J. Saloom Jr. (L '42), who served as Judge of Lafayette City Court for over 40 years; and Michael A. Starks (L '68), who was the first African-American graduate of Tulane Law School and first African-American City Attorney for Orleans Parish.

The Hall of Fame was created in 2012 with the support of an endowment gift by Lake Charles attorney Mike Veron (A&S ’72, L ’74) and his wife, Melinda. Honorees have included such historically influential figures as 5th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge John Minor Wisdom (L ’29) and U.S. Majority Leader Hale Boggs (A&S ’35, L ’37) along with local trailblazers including Marian Mayer Berkett (L ’39), Wayne J. Lee (A&S ’71, L ’74) and John Giffen Weinmann (A&S ’50, L ’52).

Selections are made by an alumni committee, in consultation with the dean, based on their distinguished professional achievements and enduring dedication to the mission and students of Tulane Law School.

Please register online for the Hall of Fame Luncheon at https://alumni.tulane.edu/hofregister

Living honorees
Judy Barrasso  
Judy Y. Barrasso (L '81): Attorney
Ms. Barrasso, a founding member of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver, is a top commercial litigator, focusing on complex commercial litigation matters and class actions involving insurance coverage and bad faith, director and officer liability, securities fraud, and commercial. She is currently serving as President of the International Society of Barristers, a member of the Tulane Law School Dean's Advisory Board and is a past president of the New Orleans Bar Association. Ms. Barrasso has received the John R. “Jack” Martzell Professionalism Award and Louisiana Bar Foundation's Distinguished Attorney Award. She is also the Commissioner of the New Orleans Downtown Development District and has served on the boards of Contemporary Arts Center, the Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under the Law and The New Orleans Pro Bono Project.
Eldon Fallon  
Eldon E. Fallon (L ’62): U.S. District Court Judge
Fallon, a U.S. District Court judge for the Eastern District of Louisiana, was appointed in 1995 by President Bill Clinton. Prior to the bench, Judge Fallon was a partner in the New Orleans law firm of Gainsburgh, Benjamin, Fallon & David. He is a past president of the Louisiana State Bar Association and the Louisiana Bar Foundation; and has received the LSBA Lifetime Achievement Award and National Pro Bono Public Award from the American Bar Association. In 2017, Tulane University’s Alumni Association honored Judge Fallon with the Professional Achievement Award and the Tulane Law Review named him the Alumnus of the Year at their annual banquet. 
Cynthia Shoss  
Cynthia R. Shoss (NC '71, L '74): Attorney
Ms. Shoss is the Co-Head of the Global Insurance group of the international law firm of Eversheds Sutherland. An expert in transactional and insurance regulatory matters, she has been a frequent professor during the Tulane Law School’s Transactional Boot Camp. Ms. Shoss was editor of the Tulane Law Review and the first woman to win the Rufus T. Harris Prize for Excellence in Torts. She clerked for Louisiana Supreme Court Justices Mack Barham and Joe Sanders and was an associate at Stone Pigman before her career took her to New York and London. Currently serves on her firm’s Executive, pro bono, and Diversity & Inclusion committees and on the Boards of several nonprofit organizations.
Posthumous honorees
John Kramer  
John Kramer: Dean of Tulane Law School
John R. Kramer served as Dean of Tulane Law School from 1986-1996. During his tenure he transformed Tulane Law from a regional law school to one of national prominence. He was a magna cum laude graduate of both Harvard University and Harvard Law School as well as a Fulbright Scholar at Cambridge University. After law school he clerked for Thurgood Marshall at the NAACP Legal Defense Fund. Dean Kramer oversaw the construction of John Giffen Weinmann Hall, an increase in the diversity and gender percentage of the school and, most notably led Tulane Law to become the first school to establish Pro Bono requirements for all graduating students.
Kaliste Saloom  
Kaliste J. Saloom Jr. (L '42): Judge of Lafayette City Court
Judge Saloom served four decades as the Judge for Lafayette City Court. After graduating as valedictorian from Cathedral High, Judge Saloom earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Louisiana-Lafayette, formerly Southwestern Louisiana Institute, before graduating Order of the Coif from Tulane Law in 1942. After law school, he joined the military in 1942 serving in North Africa, France and Germany as a special agent in the US Army Counter Intelligence Corps during WWII. In 1946 Judge Saloom opened his own legal practice before becoming a Judge in 1953. The Saloom family proudly represents 5 generations of Tulane Law graduates from Tulane and Tulane Law School.
Michael Starks  
Michael A. Starks (L '68): Attorney
Mr. Starks, a native New Orleanean and graduate of St. Aug High School, was the first African American graduate of Tulane Law School. After law school he continued to break barriers as the first African American lawyer to work in New Orleans’ City Attorney’s office, during the administration of Mayor Moon Landrieu. Mr. Starks went on to serve as the attorney for the Housing Authority. He continued to be a proud Tulanian, mentoring countless future attorneys, judges and business leaders both during their time in law school and into their professional life.

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login