Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News

The Phelps Lecture Series was inaugurated in 1992 to honor Ashton Phelps, Sr.. Mr. Phelps was a distinguished Tulane Law School graduate (L'37), who practiced law at Phelps, Dunbar, Marks, Claverie and Sims, served as Publisher of The Times-Picayune and as Vice Chairman of Tulane's Board of Administrators. The Lecture operates under the direction of the Ashton Phelps Chair of Constitutional Law, established in 1983, by the S.I. Newhouse Foundation and The Times-Picayune. The Phelps Lecture is dedicated to First Amendment law and related fields, because of Mr. Phelps' lifelong activities as a newspaper attorney and newspaper publisher.

Ashton Phelps Lecture on First Amendment Law 

Phelps Lecture Program
2011-12 Phelps Lecture:
"Freedom of Speech 2.0"
Rebecca Brown

Click here to download the PDF.

Phelps Lecturers 

2014-15 Martin H. Redish                                                     
Louis and Harriet Ancel Professor of Law and Public Policy at Northwestern University School of Law
2012-13 Lawrence Lessig                                                          Roy L. Furman Professor of Law and Leadership, Harvard Law School
2011-12 Rebecca Brown
Newton Professor of Constitutional Law, University of Southern California Gould School of Law
"Freedom of Speech 2.0" 
2010-11 Anita L. Allen
Deputy Dean of Academic Affairs and Henry R. Silverman Professor of Law and Professor of Philosophy, University of Pennsylvania Law School
"Veiled Women in the American Courtroom:  Is the Niqab a Barrier to Justice?" 
2009-10 Lillian R. Bevier
Former David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Virginia Law School
"Freedom, Fairness, and the F-Word:  Reflections on the Yin and Yang of the First Amendment" 
2008-09 Lee C. Bollinger
President, Columbia University
Professor of Law, Columbia University School of Law
"Uninhibited, Robust, and Wide-Open: The Press and Freedom of the Press in the 20th and 21st Centuries" 
2007-08 Dean Geoffrey R. Stone
Edward H. Levi Distinguished Service Professor,         The University of Chicago                                            Former Dean, The University of Chicago                    Former Provost, The University of Chicago
"The Roberts Court, Stare Decisis, and the Future of Constitutional Law" 
2006-07 Professor Keith Werhan
Ashton Phelps Chair of Constitutional Law, Tulane Law School
"Freedom of the Press After 9/11" 
2004-05 Professor Eugene Volokh
Gary T. Schwartz Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law
"Mechanisms of the Slippery Slope in Constitutional Discourse" 
2003-04 Professor Pamela S. Karlan
Kenneth and Harle Montgomery Professor of Public Interest Law and Co-Director, Supreme Court Litigation Clinic, Stanford Law School
"No More Tiers: Contemporary Issues in Equal Protection" 
2002-03 Professor Jack M. Balkin
Knight Professor of Constitutional Law & The First Amendment, Yale Law School
"Free Speecn and Democratic Culture" 
2001-02 Professor Mark Tushnet
William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Law,              Harvard Law School
"The Emergence of a New Constitutional Order in the U.S." 
2000-01 Linda Greenhouse
Former U.S. Supreme Court Correspondent, New York Times
"Supreme Court Appraisal"
1999-2000 Professor L. A. Powe, Jr.
Anne Green Regents Chair in Law and Professor of Government, The University of Texas School of Law
"What Was the Warren Court?" 
1998-99 Lawrence G. Sager                                                   Dean. John Jeffers Research Chair in Law and Alice Jane Drysdale Sheffield Chair, The University of Texas School of Law
1997-98 Erwin Chemerinsky                                                   Founding Dean, University of California, Irvine      School of Law
1996-97 Professor Robert M. O’Neil
Founding Director of the Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression, University of Virginia School of Law
"The First Amendment and Cyberspace:  Communications, Decency and Beyond" 
  Professor Burt Neuborne
New York University School of Law
"One-Dollar, One-Vote:  It's Time to Reconsider Buckley v. Valeo" 
1995-96 Mary Ann Case                                                         Arnold I. Shure Professor, University of Chicago Law School
  R. Kent Greenwalt                                                    University Professor, Columbia University School of Law
  Daniel A. Farber                                                        Sato Sho Professor of Law, University of California, Berkeley, School of Law
1994-95 Kathryn Abrams                                                        Herma Hill Kay Distinguished Professor of Law, University of California, Berkeley, School of Law
  Owen M. Fiss                                                          Sterling Professor of Law, Yale Law School
1993-94 Kenneth L. Karst                                                     David G. Price & Dallas P. Price Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law
  Vincent Blasi                                                            Corliss Lamont Professor of Civil Liberties, Columbia University School of Law
  Susan H. Williams                                                    Walter W. Foskett Professor of Law, Indiana University Maurer School of Law (Bloomington)
  Steven H. Shiffin                                                     Charles Frank Reavis Sr. Professor of Law, Cornell Law School
1992-93 Nadine Strossen
Former President of the ACLU and Professor of Law, New York Law School
"A Feminist Critique of 'The' Feminist Critique of Pornography" 
  Robert C. Post                                                         Dean and Sol & Lillian Goldman Professor of Law, Yale Law School
  Frederick Schauer                                                     David and Mary Harrison Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Virginia School of Law

Other prior Phelps lecturers include Kathryn Abrams, Vincent Blasi, Mary Ann Case, Erwin Chemerinsky, Daniel Farber, Owen Fiss, Kent Greenawalt, Kenneth Karst, Robert Post, Lawrence Sager, Frederick Shauer, Steven Shiffin, and Susan Williams.


Related Links:

Academic Programs Contact:
Office of Academic Services
Weinmann Hall, Suite 204
6329 Freret Street
New Orleans, LA 70118
tel 504.865.5935
fax 504.862.8373

Admission Contact:
Office of Admission
Weinmann Hall, Suite 203
6329 Freret Street
New Orleans, LA 70118
tel 504.865.5930
fax 504.865.6710

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login