Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News

The Eason-Weinmann Lecture is funded by the Eason Weinmann Center for International and Comparative Law, established in 1981 through the generosity of Virginia Eason Weinmann and John Giffen Weinmann, a distinguished Tulane Law School graduate (L'52). Ambassador Weinmann is the former Chair of Tulane's Board of Administrators, and the law building is named for him. The Center is co-directed by Professor Vernon Valentine Palmer and Professor Jörg Fedtke. The Eason Weinmann Center funds other comparative law visitors to the Law School each year.

Eason-Weinmann Lecture on Comparative Law 

Eason-Weinmann Lecture Program
2012-13 Eason-Weinmann Lecture:
"Features, Problems and Direction of International Economic Law"
Professor Guiguo Wang

Eason-Weinmann Lecturers 

For additional information about Eason-Weinmann speakers, click here.

2014-15 Bernard Schlink                                            Professor of Law, Humboldt University Berlin      Frm. Justice, Constitutional Court of       Northrhine-Westphalia                                     Visiting Professor, Cardozo School of Law       Honorary Fellow, St. Anne's College Oxford       "At Whit's End - On Conscience at the Edges of Law"
2013-14 Mahendra Pal Singh                                         Chairperson, Delhi Judicial Academy              Former Vice-Chancellor, West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences                    "Socio-economic Rights in India- A Comparative Perspective"
2012-13 Professor Guiguo Wang
Professor of Chinese and Comparative Law and Dean of the Faculty of Law,
City University of Hong Kong
"Features, Problems and Direction of International Economic Law"
2011-12 Professor Hein Kötz
Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law
Founding President, Bucerius Law School
Hamburg, Germany
"Contract Law in Europe and the United States -- Legal Unification in the Civil Law and the Common Law"

Professor Jeffrey Jowell, QC
Director of the Bingham Center for the Rule of Law
"Exporting Democracy: Absolutes and Relatives"

Click here to see a video of the lecture.

2009-10 Justice Nicholas Kasirer
Court of Appeal of Quebec and former Dean of the Faculty of Law, McGill University
2008-09 Professor Antonio Gambaro
University of Milan
2006-07 Professor Günter Frankenberg
J.W. Goethe-University, Frankfurt, Germany
2004-05 Professor Sir Basil Markesinis, QC, LL.D, DCL, FBA
Chair of Common & Civil Law, University College, London and Jamail Regents Professor, University of Texas
2004-05 Professor H. Patrick Glenn
Peter M. Laing Professor of Law, McGill University
2003-04 Symeon C. Simeonides
Dean and Professor of Law, Willamette University College of Law
2002-03 Professor Kenneth Reid
Chair of Property Law, University of Edinburgh
2001-02 Professor Ole Lando
Emeritus Professor, Copenhagen Business School
2000-01 Professor Xavier Blanc-Jovan
Professor Emeritus, University of Paris I (Pantheon-Sorbonne)
1999-2000 Professor George C. Christie
James B. Duke Professor of Law, Duke University School of Law
1998-99 Professor Geoffrey C. Hazard, Jr.
Trustee Professor of Law, University of Pennsylvania
1997-98 The Honorable Carl Baudenbacher
Judge, European Free Trade Association  Court of Justice and Chair of Private Law, Commercial Law and Economic Law, University of St. Gall, Switzerland
1996-97 Professor Anastasia Grammatikaki-Alexiou
Aristotelian University of Thessaloniki, Greece


Related Links:

Academic Programs Contact:
Office of Academic Services
Weinmann Hall, Suite 204
6329 Freret Street
New Orleans, LA 70118
tel 504.865.5935
fax 504.862.8373

Admission Contact:
Office of Admission
Weinmann Hall, Suite 203
6329 Freret Street
New Orleans, LA 70118
tel 504.865.5930
fax 504.865.6710

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login