Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News
Tulane Law School

News releases concerning Tulane Law School, its faculty, staff, students, and programs are posted here.  For more information, please send an email to lawcommunications@tulane.edu.

Maritime Law Professor receives President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

May 18, 2012

Office of the Dean
tel: 504.865.5937

Maritime Law Professor Martin Davies joined Tulane Law School in 2000 after a visiting appointment in 1999.

Admiralty Law Institute Professor of Maritime Law Martin J. Davies is being honored this year with a Tulane President’s Award for Excellence in Professional and Graduate Teaching. The award, which was established in the year 2000, since 2007 has recognized two graduate school professors who have “a sustained and compelling record of excellence in teaching and learning and an ongoing commitment to educational excellence.”

“Martin Davies is a master of classroom teaching, leveraging the great advantages of Tulane’s diverse and international student body to draw comparative perspectives into his teaching of admiralty, contracts, and torts,” said Tulane Law School Dean David Meyer. “He is one of those legendary professors students remember for the rest of their lives and credit with their own success.”

Professor Davies  says the secret to good teaching is asking—and continuing to ask—the right questions. The success of a student, he says, stems from preparation.

“[I like] students who prepare to talk in class,” Davies expounds. “Students who are prepared to take a risk … to take the chance of appearing foolish before their peers in order to contribute to the discussion.”


Inscribed on the president's medals for excellence in graduate teaching is Tulane's motto, Non Sibi Sed Suis, which is Latin for "not for one's self, but for one’s own."  
Davies, along with Scott Bernard, Mintz Associate Professor of Architecture, each will receive a one-time $5,000 cash award and a medallion, to be awarded at the Unified Commencement Ceremony held on Saturday (May 19). In addition to the graduate school professors’ recognition, Janet Ruscher, professor and chair of the psychology department, and Randy Sparks, professor of history, will receive the Suzanne and Stephen Weiss Presidential Fellowships in recognition of excellence in undergraduate teaching.

To learn more about the four President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching presented at University Commencement each May,  click here .

View the Tulane New Wave video featuring the 2012 Teaching Award recipients. 


Tulane Lawyer Magazine  

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login