Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News
Tulane Law School

News releases concerning Tulane Law School, its faculty, staff, students, and programs are posted here.  For more information, please send an email to lawcommunications@tulane.edu.

Honored women lawyers include 40-plus Tulane Law graduates

March 18, 2014


Marian Mayer Berkett (L '37) joined Tulane Law School Professor Catherine Hancock (center back) and students Mia Lindell, 2L, Laura Cannon, 1L, Janet Kearney, 2L, and Katelyn Parks, 2L.

Starting with graduates Bettie Runnels in 1898 and Florence Loeber in 1904, Tulane’s female graduates have played a major and influential role in diversifying the legal profession.

More than 40 Tulane Law alumnae are among the pioneers being honored at the New Orleans Bar Association’s first “Barristers for Brunch” event March 20. The program, co-sponsored by Tulane Law School, is scheduled for 11 a.m. at the Sheraton Hotel’s Gallery Ballroom, 500 Canal Street.

The bar’s Women in the Profession Committee organized the event to recognize the first 100 women lawyers in the New Orleans community. The list of honorees, who were licensed and practiced in the New Orleans area, spans 1898 through April 1974.

Tulanians include women from every decade, such as Claire Loeb (1924), Marian Mayer Berkett (1937), Dorothy D. Wolbrette (1945),  Adelaide W. Benjamin (1956), Phyllis M. Taylor (1966), Cynthia Ann Samuel (1973) and more.

The list is available at http://www.neworleansbar.org/women-in-the-profession.html.

For more information about the event: Contact NOBA at 504-525-7453.

These are the Tulane graduates listed and their year of bar admission:

Bettie Runnels (1898)

Florence Loeber (1904)

Claire Loeb (1924)

Juanita Tansey Parker (7/1/1935)

Marian Mayer Berkett (7/1/1937)

Marjorie Smith Zengel (8/8/1939)

Beverly Jewel Hess (12/10/1940)

Elizabeth Ridnour Haak (7/27/1942)               Kathlyn M. Roome (7/27/1942)

Aline Nobile Thompson (7/8/1943)

Marjorie L. Jackson (7/26/1944)

Dorothy D. Wolbrette (8/1/1945)

Anna Andollina (7/31/1946)

Lynn Piazza Jackson (3/31/1953)                   Nadia St. Paul Moise (6/11/1953)

Louise Schramm Korns (6/11/1954)

June B. Cahn (2/24/1955)

Adelaide W. Benjamin (6/12/1956)

Margot L. Mazeau (6/11/1958)

Elizabeth Spink Karmazin (2/16/1960)

Gloria Irvine (6/14/1961)

Mildred L. Krieger (6/13/1962)                        Margaret Cleve Spedale (6/13/1962)

Brenda Gail McDonough (8/1/1964)               Joy S. Miller (8/26/1964)

Phyllis M. Taylor (8/31/1966)

Camille Jones Strachan (8/31/1967)

Hon. Alma L Chasez (9/5/1969)                      Norris S. L. Williams (9/5/1969)

Adriel G. Arceneaux (9/11/1970)         Janice Martin Foster (9/11/1970)      Sharon A. Perlis (9/11/1970)

J. Donice Alverson (9/21/1972)       Janet Wessler Marshall (9/21/1972)    Patricia A. Mathes (10/9/1972)

Hon. Edith Brown Clement (4/25/1973)          Ann H. Stafford (4/25/1973)    

Cynthia Ann Samuel (7/19/1973)                    Janice L. Gonzales (10/5/1973)    

Kathleen S. Plemer (10/5/1973)                      Cynthia Anne Wegmann  (10/5/1973)

Cheryl B. Horton (4/30/1974)                          Ann G. Roy (4/30/1974)





Tulane Lawyer Magazine  

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login