Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News
Tulane Law School

News releases concerning Tulane Law School, its faculty, staff, students, and programs are posted here.  For more information, please send an email to lawcommunications@tulane.edu.

Intraschool Moot Court winners announced

May 05, 2015

Intraschool Moot Court 2015 Felix Rodriguez-Cartagena

Felix Rodriguez-Cartagena (L ’15), who competed in the intraschool moot court trial finals and later took first in ADR, reviews his notes while Senior U.S. District Judge Peter Beer (L ’52) awaits arguments.

Intraschool Moot Court 2015 Micah Zeno

The presentation of Micah Zeno (L ’15) in U.S. District Court helped him win the trial competition.

The final rounds of Tulane Law’s Intraschool Moot Court Competition and 1L Open gave students real-world experience not just in preparation and argumentation but in perhaps the hardest part of litigation: waiting to learn the outcome.

Results were announced April 19, which for some of the competitors was more than a week after they presented their cases in court before alumni and practitioners who volunteered as judges. Caroline Bordelon (L ’15), moot court administrative justice for intraschool competitions, said 13 attorneys volunteered to judge the competition’s final rounds and share their expertise and advocacy tips with competitors.

In keeping with Tulane Law tradition, upperclass winners in trial and appellate advocacy and alternative dispute resolution have their names engraved on marble plaques in the Wendell H. Gauthier Moot Court Room.

First-year students, who competed in trial, appellate, ADR and international commercial arbitration with current and former moot court team members as judges, get the experience that will prepare them for interschool competition next year.

The winners:

Class of 2015
Trial: Micah Zeno, first; John Richardson, second
Appellate: Alex Fleszar, first; Ryan McLaren, second
ADR: Felix Rodriguez-Cartagena, first; Hamilton Wise, second

Class of 2016
Trial: Rann Wang, first; Anton Martynenko and Simon Menard, tied for second
Appellate: Arienne Jones, first; Anton Martynenko, second
ADR: Liz Houts, first; Benjamin Trachman, second

Class of 2017
Trial and ADR: William Igbokwe
Appellate: Benjamin Glass
International Commercial Arbitration: Max Fargotstein


Tulane Lawyer Magazine  

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login