Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News
Tulane Law School

News releases concerning Tulane Law School, its faculty, staff, students, and programs are posted here.  For more information, please send an email to lawcommunications@tulane.edu.

Investitures celebrate new Tulane Law faculty chairs

May 18, 2015

Four eminent Tulane Law professors were honored in April with investiture ceremonies formally recognizing their appointments to endowed chairs.


An April 15 event celebrated Professor Ed Sherman, the inaugural David Boies Distinguished Chair, and Professors Adeno Addis and Stephen M. Griffin, who were appointed in the fall 2014 semester to W.R. Irby Chairs.

Professor Guiguo Wang’s investiture as new holder of the Eason-Weinmann Chair of International and Comparative Law was held April 23 and attended by 30 senior-ranking Chinese judges who were visiting Tulane as part of a judicial education program he founded while law dean at City University of Hong Kong.

Sherman, who joined Tulane as dean in 1996, pioneered alternative dispute resolution techniques and is a highly regarded authority on complex litigation. The author of seven books and nearly 100 scholarly articles and book reviews, he has been honored twice with major awards for his leadership on American Bar Association task forces on, among other topics, disaster insurance coverage, asbestos and class actions. He has been a visiting professor in Dublin, Ireland; Tokyo, Japan; and Sydney, Australia, and worked on drafting a new civil procedure code for the Republic of Vietnam on a USAID project.

The Boies Chair was endowed by renowned trial attorney David Boies, father of Tulane Law graduates Jonathan Boies (L ’97) and the late Caryl Louise Boies Reilly (L ’87).

The Irby Chairs are made possible by the estate W.R. Irby, a storied tobacco company executive, banker, philanthropist and Tulane benefactor who led restoration and preservation in the French Quarter after a 1915 hurricane. He also served as president of Tulane’s Board of Administrators.

The newest holders, Addis and Griffin, both are constitutional law specialists. 

Addis, the W. Ray Forrester Professor of Public and Constitutional Law since 2001, focuses primarily on constitutional law and international human rights. His work, which has explored concepts such as the role of language rights in defining communities and constitutional protections for those displaced by civil unrest in their homelands, has been published in journals in the United States and internationally. And he has been a visiting professor or lectured at Cornell, Duke, Melbourne University, Chuo University, the University of Hong Kong, the University of Texas and other leading universities.

Griffin, the Rutledge C. Clement, Jr. Professor in Constitutional Law since 1997, weaves history, legal theory and political science together to examine issues such as separation of powers, particularly presidential war powers. His most recent book, Long Wars and the Constitution, published in 2013 by Harvard University Press, has been roundly praised for its analysis of presidential authority to take the nation to war. His work has appeared in major legal journals as well as popular blogs, including the Huffington Post and the National Constitution Center’s Constitution Daily.

Wang, who just joined the Tulane faculty in 2014, is a world-renowned scholar on international economic law and a leader in legal education. His prodigious record of published scholarship includes dozens of books and articles on international trade law and policy, international investment and banking law and corporate law. Several of his landmark volumes, including International Monetary and Financial Law and Wang’s Business Law of China, are now in their third or fourth editions. He is one of just 80 Titular Members of the International Academy of Comparative Law (and the fifth from Tulane’s faculty, along with Professors Claire Dickerson, Jim Gordley, Vernon Palmer and Thanassi Yiannopoulos).

The Eason-Weinmann Chair is funded by a gift from John Giffen Weinmann (L ’52), former U.S. Ambassador to Finland, and his wife, Virginia Eason Weinmann. John Weinmann, a member of Tulane Law’s first Hall of Fame Class in 2013, also has served as president of Tulane’s Board of Administrators. 


Tulane Lawyer Magazine  

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login