Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News
Tulane Law School

News releases concerning Tulane Law School, its faculty, staff, students, and programs are posted here.  For more information, please send an email to lawcommunications@tulane.edu.

Katie Schwartzmann (L ’03) honored with Wynne Professionalism Award

January 12, 2016


Attorney/civil rights advocate Katie M. Schwartzmann (L ’03) is receiving the Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award from the Association of Women Attorneys New Orleans chapter Jan. 14.

Photo courtesy of Katie Schwartzmann 

The Association of Women Attorneys New Orleans chapter is adding New Orleans civil rights advocate Katie M. Schwartzmann (L ’03) to its long list of distinguished Tulanians chosen for the Michaelle Pitard Wynne Professionalism Award.

The award is being presented at the association’s annual dinner Jan. 14. The honor recognizes service and professionalism, qualities exemplified by Wynne, who was a U.S. Magistrate Judge in 1982-94 and taught in Tulane Law’s Trial Advocacy program.

Schwartzmann, co-director of the Roderick & Solange MacArthur Justice Center’s New Orleans office, is a recognized leader on prison reform and civil rights. While director of the Southern Poverty Law Center’s New Orleans office in 2011-13, she was the lead attorney in Jones v. Gusman, the lawsuit alleging that conditions for prisoners at the Orleans Parish Prison were inhuman and unconstitutional. Schwartzmann helped negotiate a federal court-supervised settlement, and she continues to represent inmates as officials make improvements required by the consent decree.

Schwartzmann also spent six years a legal director at the American Civil Liberties Union of Louisiana, handling constitutional questions involving freedom of speech and religion, discrimination, due process, police misconduct, illegal searches and seizures and cruel and unusual prison conditions.

The 2015 Wynne Award winner was Professor Becki Kondkar, director of Tulane Law School’s Domestic Violence Clinic. Other previous winners include: Jefferson Parish Juvenile Court Judge Ann Murry Keller (L ’78); Janice Foster (L ’70), Jones Walker special counsel; the late Martin Hunley (L ’47); Judy Perry Martinez (L ’82), former vice president/chief compliance officer at Northrop Grumman; Judy Barrasso, a founding member of Barrasso Usdin Kupperman Freeman & Sarver; Professor Jane Johnson (L ’74), Tulane Law’s director of experiential learning; Orleans Parish Domestic Relations Court Judge Bernadette D’Souza (L ’92); Louisiana Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Fredericka Wicker (L ’77); Professor Tania Tetlow, Tulane University’s chief of staff and vice president; Professor Emerita Cindy Samuel (L ’72); and Carole Neff (L ’77), partner at Sessions Fishman Nathan & Israel. 


Tulane Lawyer Magazine  

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login