Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News
Tulane Law School

News releases concerning Tulane Law School, its faculty, staff, students, and programs are posted here.  For more information, please send an email to lawcommunications@tulane.edu.

Louisiana bar recognizes Tulanians’ dedication

June 22, 2016

The Louisiana State Bar Association has recognized Tulane alumni and a Class of 2016 graduate for their contributions to the profession and their devotion to pro bono work.

At the LSBA annual meeting June 9, Phelps Dunbar partner Chris Ralston (L ’99) and longtime public defender Kendall P. Green (L ’77) each received a 2016 President’s Award from outgoing association President Mark Cunningham (L ’92). The President’s Award is among the organization’s highest honors.

Ralston, a commercial litigator, was recognized for his efforts to promote access to justice and diversity in the legal profession. He serves on the Louisiana Access to Justice Commission, and is president-elect of the New Orleans Bar Association, a vice chair of the Pro Bono Project and a Southeast Louisiana Legal Services board member. In April, he received the 2016 Louisiana Bar Foundation President’s Award.

Green, who spent 32 years as a public defender, was recognized for “heroic and selfless efforts” during his career with the Orleans Public Defenders. He helped rebuild and transform the public defender office after Hurricane Katrina and spent many years as chief of trials, where he oversaw the trial division and helped develop investigative and client services divisions. He received the Louisiana Public Defenders Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2009.

Earlier in the year, pro bono award winners were honored at the Louisiana Supreme Court.

Children’s Law Award: Zebulon Winstead (L ’02), managing member of Crowell and Owens in Alexandria. 

Law Student Pro Bono Award: Stacey Michel (L ’16)

Pro Bono Publico Awards (50 pro bono hours donated per year)

Dana Atchison (L ’98)

Meredith Grabill (L ’06)

Jane Jackson (L ’10)

Gary Zwain (L ’78)

Pro Bono Century Awards (100 pro bono hours donated January 2014-December 2015)

Robert Clotworthy (L ’77)

Meredith Grabill (L ’06)

Jane Jackson (L ’10)


Tulane Lawyer Magazine  

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login