Tulane Law School
About Admission & Financial Aid Student Life Programs Faculty Library Employers & Careers Life After Law School News
Tulane Law School

News releases concerning Tulane Law School, its faculty, staff, students, and programs are posted here.  For more information, please send an email to lawcommunications@tulane.edu.

Investitures set for five Tulane Law scholars

October 17, 2016

Five Tulane Law School faculty members appointed to professorships during the summer are shaping their fields across the United States and abroad with influential legal scholarship and insight that’s informing public debate in a wide range of fields.

Investitures are set for November and December to recognize these scholars and the donors who’ve made the professorships possible. All of the investitures are scheduled for 5:30 p.m. in John Giffen Weinmann Hall’s Wendell H. Gauthier Appellate Moot Court Room 110, with a reception to follow in the Marian Mayer Berkett Multipurpose Room:

Nov. 10: Ann M. Lipton

Nov. 21: Sally Brown Richardson

Dec. 1: Amy Gajda, Saru Matambanadzo and Pamela R. Metzger


Ann M. Lipton: Michael M. Fleishman Associate Professor in Business Law & Entrepreneurship

Lipton, who joined the Tulane Law faculty in 2015, has quickly established herself as a teacher and a writer who can tackle complex securities issues for specialists as well as for a broader audience. She’s been published in major legal journals, has taken part in conferences across the United States and writes regularly for the Business Law Prof Blog. She is Tulane Law’s 2016-17 Gamm Faculty Scholar, a rotating annual award that supports the research and engagement of a young faculty member. Lipton clerked for Justice David Souter on the U.S. Supreme Court and spent more than a decade handling securities and corporate litigation in New York, including a stint with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Michael M. Fleishman (L ’69), a senior partner at Bingham Greenebaum Doll in Louisville, Kentucky, endowed the professorship in 2016 to support an early-career scholar working in business law.


Sally Brown Richardson: Charles E. Lugenbuhl Associate Professor in Law

A specialist in comparative property law, Richardson also is a student favorite as a teacher and mentor. She joined the Tulane Law faculty in 2012. In addition to publication in multiple legal journals, she often writes on the PropertyProf Blog, using events such as Mardi Gras and the presidential election to address property law topics. She also has presented her work in Belfast and Germany and was Tulane Law’s Gordon Gamm Faculty Scholar in 2015-16. She led Tulane’s hosting of the annual conference of the American Society of Comparative Law’s Younger Comparativist Committee, which brought more than 100 scholars from across the world to campus in 2016, and she’s a key organizer of the annual Tulane Property Roundtable.

Richardson is the inaugural holder of the professorship, which was endowed by friends and former law partners of the late Charles Lugenbuhl (L ’51), a towering figure in the New Orleans admiralty bar and longtime Tulane Law adjunct faculty member.


Amy Gajda: Class of 1937 Professor of Law

A frequent analyst on free expression and privacy issues, Gajda has presented her legal scholarship across the U.S. and abroad, including in England, Australia, Spain and France. She also recently has written essays on the clash of press and privacy rights for The New York Times, Slate and the New York Daily News. During 2015-16, she published three articles, two book chapters and two co-authored casebooks, and her second book with Harvard University Press, The First Amendment Bubble: How Privacy and Paparazzi Threaten a Free Press, was the subject of the New England Law Review’s Spring 2016 Symposium. A former journalist, she joined the Tulane Law faculty in 2010.

The Class of 1937 Professorship honors one of Tulane Law’s most colorful and accomplished classes, which included the late U.S. House Majority Leader Hale Boggs and Deutsch Kerrigan partner Marian Mayer Berkett, the first woman lawyer hired by a law firm in Louisiana. Both were inaugural inductees into the Tulane Law School Hall of Fame. 

Saru Matambanadzo: Moise S. Steeg Jr. Associate Professor in Law


Matambanadzo, an authority on gender equality and workplace equity, joined the Tulane Law faculty in 2010. Her interdisciplinary scholarship has explored gender gaps in corporate executive positions and the legal treatment of pregnancy and childbirth, including laws governing discrimination accommodation and public support for child-rearing. She also has done work on the theory of legal personhood as applied to individuals and to collective entities such as labor unions and corporations.  She has presented her work at universities across the U.S., and as the inaugural Gordon Gamm Faculty Scholar, she organized a major academic conference on law and inequality in 2014, drawing 25 of the leading U.S. legal scholars on the subject to Tulane.   

Moise S. Steeg Jr. was a member of Tulane Law’s Class of 1937 who, with several classmates, founded the People’s League and spearheaded a successful effort to reform Louisiana politics in the late 1930s and early 1940s. He practiced real estate law for more than 70 years, founding the Steeg Law Firm in 1974. He also co-founded the Urban League of Greater New Orleans and helped create the Historic District Landmarks Commission.


Pamela R. Metzger: Robert A. Ainsworth Professor in the Courts and the Federal System

With both scholarly and practical expertise in criminal procedure and public defender systems, Metzger has had a prominent role in seeking solutions for Louisiana’s current public defender crisis and has consulted on improving systems around the United States. She is recognized nationally as an expert on the Sixth Amendment rights to counsel and confrontation and helped draft Louisiana’s 2007 Public Defender Act. Her scholarship has appeared in prominent legal journals, and she has presented her work at forums across the country. Metzger, who joined the Tulane Law faculty in 2001, is a former public defender and was director of Tulane’s Criminal Litigation Clinic until 2008. She’s well-known for her work rebuilding the New Orleans criminal justice system after Hurricane Katrina. 

The Ainsworth Professorship is named for Judge Robert A. Ainsworth, a former Louisiana state senator who served 15 years on the 5th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals after spending five years as a U.S. District Court judge in New Orleans. 



Tulane Lawyer Magazine  

©Tulane University Law School | Weinmann Hall | 6329 Freret Street | New Orleans, LA 70118 | 504.865.5939    Privacy Policy
Tulane University Home
admin login