Tulane Home Tulane Home

Tulane Law wins moot court title at George Mason (new info)

February 16, 2017 7:20 AM

Tulane Law School’s mock trial team of William Igbokwe, Marco Salgado and Brian Trepanier (all L ’17) won the 10th annual John L. Costello Mock Trial Tournament hosted by Antonin Scalia Law School, George Mason University Feb. 9-12 in Fairfax, Virginia. The trio topped 31 teams from around the United States to become the first Tulane team to win the Costello tournament. It was among several winning performances by Tulane teams at spring moot court competitions.


Competitors in the Texas Young Lawyers Association-sponsored National Trial Competition in Dallas were Abby Peak (L ’18, coach), Marcella Lupski (L ’18), Derek O’Connor (L ’17), Jackson Smith, Ben Rosenfield, Collin Buisson and Cody King (all L ’18).

Igbokwe was named the Costello tournament’s best oral advocate, his second individual advocacy award at a national event for 2016-17. In January, he was named top trial advocate at the Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Competition at the 2017 Southwestern Black Law Student Association Region Convention. Morgan Wilson (L '18) was named best moot court advocate at SWBLSA, and she teamed with Marcus Pierre (L '18) for a third-place moot court finish.

At George Mason, the Tulane team of Anna Potter, Miriam Gentile and Ben Rosenfield (all L ’18) also competed.

Earlier in February, Derek O'Connor (L ’17), Marcella Lupski and Jackson Smith (both L ’18) reached the final at the National Trial Competition regional round sponsored by the Texas Young Lawyers Association at SMU Dedman School of Law in Dallas. Rosenfield, Collin Buisson and Cody King (both L ’18) also competed in Dallas, and Abby Peak (L ’18) coached.

(This story was update Feb. 17 with other tournament results.)