Tulane Home Tulane Home

International Baseball Arbitration Competition

The 17th Annual International Baseball Arbitration Competition (TIBAC) will take place at Tulane Law School on Thursday, January 18 and Friday, January 19, 2024. Registration is now open!

Thank you to the competitors and arbitrators who participated in the 16th Annual Tulane International Baseball Arbitration Competition. We look forward to seeing you again this year.

Registration Information

  • Early Registration Deadline: Friday, November 17, 2023
  • Regular Registration Deadline: Friday, December 8, 2023

We are pleased to accepted payment by credit card (Visa or MasterCard) this year. Please see the link below for registration fee information.

Advocacy Competition Registration: Click Here

If you are interested in participating in the written-only competition, please complete this survey.

About the Competition

The Tulane International Baseball Arbitration Competition, organized by the Tulane Sports Law Society, is a simulated salary arbitration competition closely modeled after the procedures used by Major League Baseball (MLB). Like most law school moot court competitions, TIBAC's primary aim is to provide participants with an opportunity to enhance their oral and written advocacy skills. However, the competition is unique in that it allows law students to hone these skills within the specialized context of MLB's salary arbitration proceedings. The competition takes place annually in the early part of the spring academic semester at Tulane University Law School. Additionally, Tulane's Sports Law Society hosts a panel of experts to discuss legal issues related to baseball.

Past Competition Coverage:

Competition Materials

Past Guest Arbitrators

  • Scott Barber (Player Agent, Ballengee Group)
  • Jay Cohen (Staff Attorney/Baseball Specialist, Zuckerman Spaeder, LLP)
  • Greg Dreyfuss (Director of Analytics and Baseball Operations, MLBPA)
  • Sam Eaton (Director, Baseball Operations, Arizona Diamondbacks)
  • Mark Feinsand (Executive Reporter, MLB.Com)
  • Jon Fetterolf (Partner, Zuckerman Spaeder, LLP)
  • Rex Gary (Co-Founder, Turner-Gary Sports)
  • Brian Grieper (Player Agent, Paragon Sports International)
  • Evan Green (Director of Arbitration, Baseball Division, Creative Artists Agency)
  • Trey Hendricks (Director of International Scouting, Cincinnati Reds)
  • Giles Kibbe (Senior Vice President, General Counsel, Houston Astros)
  • Matt Kleine (Vice President, Baseball Operations, Milwaukee Brewers)
  • Marc Kligman (Player Agent, Total Care Sports Management)
  • Nona Lee (Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, Arizona Diamondbacks)
  • Joseph Longo (Player Agent, Paragon Sports International)
  • Rachel Luba (Player Agent, Founder, Luba Sports)
  • Michael Mariano (Vice President, Baseball Operations at Wasserman)
  • Greg McMillin (Assistant Director of International Scouting, Cincinnati Reds)
  • Mike Parnell (Assistant Director of Pro Scouting, Texas Rangers)
  • Caroline Perry (Senior Vice President & General Counsel, San Diego Padres)
  • Jay Reisinger (Partner, Farrell & Reisinger, LLC)
  • Zack Rosenthal (Assistant General Manager, Baseball Operations, and Assistant General Counsel, Colorado Rockies)
  • Philip Stringer (Professional Scout, Los Angeles Dodgers)
  • Stephanie Wilka (Associate General Counsel & Baseball Operations Compliance Officer, San Diego Padres)
  • Alex Winsberg (General Counsel, Legal and Risk Management, Los Angeles Angels)
  • Hamilton Wise (Assistant Director of International Scouting, Texas Rangers)

2023 Finalists

Congratulations to the following teams and participants:

  • Champions: UCLA School of Law
  • Runners-Up: Fordham Law School
  • Semi-Finalists: The University of Texas at Austin Law School & Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law
  • Oral Advocacy Award Winner: Sydney Gaskins, UCLA
  • Written Advvocacy Award Winner: Villanova University Charles Widger School of Law
  • Written Competition Winner: St. John’s University School of Law

Contact Information

For any questions or concerns regarding the competition, please contact Baseball Arbitration Co-Chairs:

  • Becca Scher
  • Nicholas Hanna
  • Jordan Girasole
  • Jason Sumich
  • Jacob Adas
  • Spencer Chism
  • Whitney McBay
  • Ryan Zamos

You can reach them via email at tulane.baseball.arbitration@gmail.com.