Tulane Home Tulane Home

McGlinchey Lecture

The Dermot S. McGlinchey Lecture on Federal Litigation is broadly dedicated to exploring federal court adjudication, constitutional law, and justice under law.


Professor Richard H. Pildes (Sudler Family Professor of Constitutional Law, NYU School of Law) delivered the 2017-2018 McGlinchey Lecture.


The McGlinchey Lecture was established in 1996 by the law firm of McGlinchey Stafford, to honor its founder, the late Dermot S. McGlinchey, a distinguished Tulane Law School graduate (L'57). Mr. McGlinchey was a dedicated supporter of the law school, and his many charitable contributions included service as the chairman of the school's building fund. He devoted much of his life to promoting equal access to the courts, and he revitalized the Louisiana Bar Foundation

Dermot S. McGlinchey 

Dermot S. McGlinchey, a leading lawyer of his generation, as well as a civic activist and ardent supporter of Tulane Law School, died at the age of 60 in 1993. Born in New York City, he received his undergraduate (A&S ’54) and law (L ’57) degrees from Tulane and remained active in the Tulane community throughout his life. He was president of the Tulane Alumni Association in 1992-93. He served the law school as a member of the Dean’s Council, chairman of the Dean’s Council Development Committee, vice chairman of the endowment program of the Maritime Law Center and chairman of the law school’s building fund. 

“Dermot was a person who flew with eagles, but he always cared about the sparrows in our society,” said friend and U.S. District Judge Eldon Fallon (L ’63).

Mr. McGlinchey devoted much of his adult life to promoting equal access to the courts. In 1986, he led the effort to revitalize the Louisiana Bar Foundation and was instrumental in forming the foundation’s Pro Bono Project. “He took on the challenge and turned ideas into reality,” said Fallon, who was president of the Louisiana Bar Association at the time. 

“Dermot knew the law, and he knew how to get things done,” said C. G. Norwood Jr., former managing member of McGlinchey Stafford. “Dermot was a valued mentor to dozens of young lawyers, myself included. One of the most valuable lessons he taught was that without effective application to the solution of real problems, the law itself is sterile.”

Noted for his expertise in the area of insurance law, Mr. McGlinchey balanced his 35-year legal career with substantial commitments to professional, civic and charitable endeavors. He was a member of the board of directors of the World Trade Center and the New Orleans Opera Association. He also served as secretary to the board of directors of the Irish American Cultural Institute. Mr. McGlinchey received the Louisiana Bar Association’s Distinguished Lawyer Award in 1991. He was appointed Ireland’s Honorary Consul in Louisiana in 1992, and was in 1993 named Irishman of the Year by the Ancient Order of Hibernians.

He is survived by his wife, Ellen Murphy McGlinchey, and two daughters, Fionuala McGlinchey Monsted (N '90) and Deirdre McGlinchey Moffett (L ’95).  

McGlinchey Stafford 

The Dermot S. McGlinchey Lecture on Federal Litigation is permanently endowed and sponsored by the law firm of McGlinchey Stafford. The firm, founded by Dermot S. McGlinchey and Graham Stafford in 1974, has more than 190 attorneys. McGlinchey Stafford has 13 offices in eight states and Washington, D.C., and the capacity to represent clients in all 50 and internationally. www.mcglinchey.com 

Past Lecturers


Victoria Nourse
The Georgetown Law Center


Richard Pildes
New York University School of Law


Jack Balkin
Yale Law School


Reva Siegel
Yale Law School


Cass R. Sunstein
Harvard Law School


Dean Erwin Chemerinsky
University of California, Irvine School of Law


Michael Dorf
Cornell University Law School


The Honorable Diane Wood
US Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit


Sanford Levinson
University of Texas Law School


Lawrence Solum
University of Illinois College of Law


The Hon. Michael W. McConnell
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit


Jack L. Goldsmith
Henry L. Shattuck Professor of Law
Harvard Law School


The Hon. William H. Pryor, Jr.
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit


Douglas A. Kysar
Cornell Law School


Samuel Estreicher
New York University Law School


Richard Lazarus
Georgetown University Law Center


Douglas Laycock
University of Texas


Drs. Donald E. Vinson and Jo-Ellan Dimitrius
Vinson & Dimitrius


Joel I. Klein
Asst. Attorney General
U.S. Dept. of Justice, Antitrust Division


Andrew L. Kaufman
Harvard Law School


The Honorable William K. Suter
Clerk, Supreme Court of the United States


Judy Scales-Trent
SUNY at Buffalo Law School


The Honorable Robert M. Parker
U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit


The Honorable Alex Kozinski
U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit