Tulane Home Tulane Home

Tulane honors law faculty for research, scholarship and achievements in their field

November 08, 2022 11:00 AM

Law Dean David Meyer with Professors Maybell Romero, Dennis Kehoe and Stacy Seicshnaydre after they received their respective awards at the Tulane Research, Scholarship, and Artistic Achievement Awards gala recently. (Photo: Tracie Schaefer)


Tulane Law faculty were honored recently as part of the university’s Research, Scholarship, and Artistic Achievement Awards which honor the impact Tulanians have on advancing knowledge in science, engineering, health, education, the arts, the humanities and other academic fields.

Law Professors Maybell Romero and Stacy Seicshnaydre received awards, alongside law-affiliated faculty Professors Dennis Kehoe and Walter Isaacson. They joined a total of 30 members of university faculty who were honored for their exceptional contributions to the university and their fields.

Law school recipients received:

  • Professor Maybell Romero received the 2022 Innovation Award, which “recognizes a scholar who develops novel ideas, approaches and insights through interdisciplinary scholarship to address clinical, public health, and societal challenges.”  The award recognizes Romero’s innovation creatively deploying a variety of methodological approaches, including doctrinal analysis, theoretical criticism, and autobiographical narrative in her scholarship advancing reforms of the criminal justice system.
Prof. Walter Isaacson received an award 
for the publication of his latest book.
  • Professor Stacy Seicshnaydre received the 2022 Provost’s Award for Excellence in Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, which “recognizes a scholar for excellence in research that addresses societal inequalities and promotes social change.”  The award recognizes Seicshnaydre’s important scholarship in the field of discrimination, racial justice, and fair housing law, including her collaboration with Professor Robert Westley (winner of last year’s inaugural Provost’s Award for Excellence in EDI) in developing their innovative course in Antiracist Lawyering.
  • Professor Dennis Kehoe was inducted into the Tulane University Research Hall of Fame, recognizing his landmark achievements in advancing understanding of Roman law and its relation to economic interests. Kehoe is an affiliated faculty member at the law school whose research focuses on the economy of the Roman Empire, in particular, on the role that law and legal institutions played in it.  He is a professor of humanities in the School of Liberal Arts.
  • Professor Walter Isaacson, also an affiliated faculty member of the law school, received a 2022 Publication Award, presented for “the best book published in the prior calendar year,” for his book “The Code Breakers: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race,” published in 2021 by Simon & Schuster. Isaacson is a professor of history in the School of Liberal Arts.