Tulane Home Tulane Home

Tulane Law honors students in annual Graduate Awards Night

May 21, 2022 9:15 AM
Alina Hernandez ahernandez4@tulane.edu



Law school awards signify academic and leadership achievement, three years of hard work and dedication to the profession of law. And it is an added honor to be chosen for an award by a vote of Tulane Law’s faculty.

Two of the law school’s highest honors,  the John Minor Wisdom Award, focused on academics and writing, and the General Maurice Hirsch Award, which honors a student who has contributed to Tulane and the community, were awarded this year by the faculty to two student leaders, Antonio Milton and Megan Holt, respectively.

The two were honored at the annual Graduation Awards Night among their peers, family and friends.  

The Hirsch Award, endowed by Mrs. Elise Newman Solomon to honor the life and achievement of General Maurice Hirsch, is presented each year to the graduating student who, by vote of the faculty, has contributed most distinctively and constructively to university or community needs.

Holt, this year’s recipient, has been a tireless leader for her fellow law students, the institution and Tulane as a whole. She served as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Law and Sexuality for the past year, shepherding extraordinary growth in membership on the journal. She also is a leader among our veteran students. When she learned that campus veterans were having difficulties accessing their GI Bill benefits, Holt rallied university officials and helped remedy the problems.

Holt will continue her service to the country by re-entering the U.S. Army as a Captain in the JAG Corps.

Milton received the John Minor Wisdom Award, endowed in 1987 by the former law clerks of the Hon. John Minor Wisdom (L’29).  The recipient must be an outstanding JD candidate who has demonstrated excellence in academic work and in writing ability, has contributed selflessly to the law school community, and who has accepted a federal or state judicial clerkship after graduation.

See a gallery of photos from the Graduate Awards Night!

Milton is the epitome of selfless contribution to the law school. He has served as a Harris Peer Mentor, advising first-year law students, as an Academic Support Program tutor, a clerk for the Tulane Legal Assistance Program, and a member of the Jeffrey G. Miller Environmental Law Appellate Moot Court Team. And if that was not enough, he was elected in his third year to serve as the first Black editor-in-chief of the Tulane Law Review.

After graduation, Milton will clerk for Tulane alumna Chief Judge Nannette Jolivette Brown of the Eastern District of Louisiana and then will clerk for Judge Carl Stewart on the U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Milton also recently was awarded the Tulane’s 34 Award honoring top student leaders by the university.

Tulane Law Dean David Meyer and faculty conferred these and other awards Friday, May 20. The full list of award winners is:

Student Bar Association President Award

Sergio Ingato

The Tulane 34 Award

Meredith Clement, Sergio Ingato and Antonio Milton.

Crest Award

Michelle Domingue II, Noor Mozaffar and Sara Wood.

Order of the Coif

Rebecca Alba, Hannah Aronoff, Talha Chaudhry, Gianluca Cocito-Monoc, Kevin M. Cole, Eleanor T. Gardner, Parker Hufft,, Madeline Inzenga, Winifred W. Johnson, Elise K. McCanless, Sarah S. McLoughlin, Antonio Milton, Robert M. Morris, Tom Mostellar, Kristen E. Shaw, Ellen E. Short and Abigail J. Weiland.

Order of the Barristers

Meredith R. Clement, Michelle T. Domingue II, Patrick Henkels Flanigan, Erica K. Powell, Tracey W. Gant, Christian Dylan Farrow, Bailey M. Boesch, Catherine J. Grimm, Rebecca Elizabeth Alba and Schuyler Alexander Corbin.

Moot Court Chief Justice

Meredith Clement

The Joseph A. Ettinger Award

Civil Law: Kevin Cole and Ingrid von Kleydorff (L’23)

Criminal Law: Jeremy Schrady and Reagan Roy (L’23)

The Association for Women Attorneys Award

Abigail Weiland

The Clinical Legal Education Association Outstanding Student Award

Ryan Anderson

The Louisiana State Bar Association Law Student Pro Bono Award

Jacob Edwards

The Brian McSherry Community Service Award

Bryn Sarner

The General Maurice Hirsch Award

Megan C. Holt

The James Wysocki Trial Advocacy Awards

Kevin Cole (Fall 2021) and Jack Foster (Spring 2022)

Federal Bar Association Award

Winifred Johnson

The Louisiana State Bar Association Corporate and Business Law Section Award

Talha Chaudhry

The Tulane Tax Institute Award in Taxation

Gabrielle Daigle

The Haber Joseph McCarthy Environmental Law Award

David Ivy-Taylor

The Charles Kolhmeyer Jr. Award in Maritime Law

Madeline Inzenga and Nikki Caspers

The Edward A. Dodd Jr. Award in Admiralty

Seth Blackledge

LLM Academic Excellence Award

Michelle Rangosch

The George Dewey Nelson Memorial Award

Winifred Johnson

The Civil Law Studies Award

Elise McCanless

The John Minor Wisdom Award

Antonio X. Milton

The Dean’s Medal

Rebecca E. Alba, Gianluca S. Cocito-Monoc, Kevin M. Cole, Sharon N. DiPrinzio, Winifred W. Johnson, Elise K. McCanless, Angelique J. Rael and Kristen E. Shaw.

The Faculty Medal

Winifred Johnson

Jackson-Ryan Pro Bono Advocate Award

Leland Bertrand, Mikayla Mangle, Eden Moalem, Bryn Sarner and Sara Wood

For a gallery of photos of this event, go here.